PDA

View Full Version : Help please

dondasch
02-28-2005, 04:14 PM
This is my first time using this website and I hope that someone has some insight on what I need to do in my situation. Here goes:

Yesterday I went through my normal shutdown procedures on my operating system (Windows ME) when I heard a strange noise, which is usually indicative of an error. Sure enough, when I turned the screen back on I saw the following horror:

The following user \\KOROMA\\ is connected to your computer. Do you wish to disconnect? Yes/No.

Needless to say that I clicked yes as quickly as possible and am hoping that I have not been hacked but it appears I may have been. I checked the firewall I use (ZoneAlarm) and didn't see any evidence to alert me, but a friend tells me it is possible that a hacker could have put some sort of virus program on my PC.

The only thing I can think that may have happened is that somehow I may have disabled my firewall or it may have been disabled. Can anyone help me out on what I can do to see if I have, in fact, been hacked?

Thanks

Unregistered
03-01-2005, 06:03 PM
First of all, don't turn off your screen until the pc is off.

Secondly, the strange noise was, hopefully, coming from your speakers, right? Otherwise, you've got a much bigger problem than being hacked (hardware failure).

Third.
The message you saw indicates that another person connected to your computer through Microsoft shared drive feature.
Zone Alarm, while a great piece of software, is not overly useful in default configuration (as is any software).
If I remember correctly, ZA doesn't monitor local requests. You, my friend, have become a victim of a trust issue.

You haven't specified anything about your box (PC), other than it's a WinME.
Is it on a network? Are there two or more computers sharing an internet connection? Is there a wireless connection? Is that a small network? Few computers in your house? Are you a student on campus?